Rush Athetic Under 10E win their League

20/04/2010 18:19

Congratulations to the Under 10's who did us all proud by winning the League last Saturday by beating second placed Balscadden two nil last Saturday. The team haven't beaten at home since they formed three years ago, amassing a goal tally of 58 whislt conceding only 16, a tremendous achievement.Oisin McMullen and Ryan O'Shea both went close in the first half, but in the second, Ryan O'Shea got the opener with a savage left footed shot. Balscadden almost squared it immediately only to be defied with a terrificsave by the excellent Kyle Hanratty in the Rush goal. The pressure on the Rush goal was mounting but Amber McCann and Gavan Corr in the defence put in some crucial tackles and remained resolute throughout. Rush got the all important second goal when Joshua Coffey broke through and slotted one past the Balscadden keeper to put some daylight between the home side and the visitors.Alex Knowlden almost added two more for Rush but the the Balscadden keeper saved on both occasions. Rush then brought on reinforcements, Christian Murphy and Jack Philip helped shore things up for the league leaders and see out the game at two nil. A great victory and the League in the bag, congratulations again to one and all, and a big thank you to Maurice and Una.

The Rush Athletic Team: Kyle Hanratty, Gavin Corr, Dylan McBride, Josh Coffey, Amber McCann, James Osbourne, Oisin Mullen, Ryan O'Shea, Alex Knowlden, Christian Murphy, Sean Murray, Daniel Warren, Jack Philips, Conor Scally.